Understanding bread: Twenty-two recipes from Peter Reinhart

Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice (2001) was a gift from my brother. I have learned much from working with this book–precision, control, methodology.

Of course, I still am rather terrible at most of the techniques Reinhart explains. I cannot manage to shape without degassing the dough. And I never have created a barm active enough to work without a necessary spiking of commercial yeast. Sad, but one can always hope.

I baked the following breads between May 2008 and December 2011. You can see the name of each bread by scrolling over the photo. To see a larger image, simply click on the photo. Enjoy.

Sadly, I can find no photo for three of the recipes from this book: focaccia, french bread, and stollen. You will have to trust me on these.

I have completed 22 of this book’s 55 bread formulas. Percentage complete: 40.00%

Leave a Reply

