The “food of life”: Twenty recipes from Najmieh Batmanglij

The latest addition to my recipe book collection is Najmieh Batmanglij’s Food of Life: Ancient Persian and Modern Iranian Cooking and Ceremonies (1986, 2011). This is the sort of book that makes me look at food in awe.

The following recipes were created between December 2011 and June 2012. You can see the name of each dish by scrolling over the photo. To see a larger image, simply click on the photo. Depending on the ingredients I had on hand, I altered a fair number of Batmanglij’s recipes. These are listed as “adapted” below. Enjoy this “food of life.”

Sadly, I can find no photo for one recipe from this book: pistachio soup. You will have to trust me on this one.

I have completed 20 of this book’s 268 recipes. Percentage complete: 7.46%

Leave a Reply

