tortelloni with sage butter

With the arrival of July, I set Batmanglij’s Food of Life aside (just for a time) and returned my attention to the recipes in Batali’s Molto Italiano. After tasting these tortelloni, made with the helping hand of my mother, I knew that my decision was well justified. I am taken completely with the nutmeg Batali adds to many of his stuffed pastas. This spice introduces a warmth, which nicely balances the vibrant astringency of the sage.

I must admit, however, that my technique still needs honing. The pasta dough turned out to be just slightly tough. I have experienced this toughness before as well. If anyone knows about making stuffed pasta, I would be interested in hearing your thoughts on this. I might have added too much flour, and too little egg. It might also have had something to do with the kneading. I think I have seen dozens of varying kneading methods. And mine is probably a strange combination of a few.

As a final note, since we have started harvesting our garlic bulbs, we have been putting garlic in just about everything. I really have grown to appreciate dishes that include whole cloves. We added about twelve cloves, just slightly sauteed, to the sage butter. Eating garlic this way might not be for everyone; but, well, if you love garlic, trying it whole like this really should not be an option.

I have completed 48 of Batali’s 327 recipes. Percentage complete: 14.68%

Comments

  1. yum!

  2. That looks delicious! You can come cook at my house any day!

Leave a Reply

