erbazzone, or herb sandwich from parma

I am very fond of recipes that recall dishes I have made in the past. Batali’s erbazzone recipe is one such recipe, reminding me of a similar dish my mom and I cooked together years ago. Unfortunately, I can’t find a photo of this dish of yore we had developed from Ina Garten’s The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook. (Actually, I might have more luck by searching through the old files on my parents’ antique of a desktop computer.) Regardless, photo or no photo, I remember well Gartin’s spinach-filled pie that we enclosed in layers of phyllo dough. Connections between foods like this remind me that the pieces of my own life must also be connected in some way, that these pieces might be fitted together and understood—at least, that is, when they concern the makings of savory pies.

We filled this particular pie in part with a combination of Swiss chard, beet greens, and spinach. After blanching, the greens stood out so beautifully with their bright red and purple veins. We threw in some pancetta, eggs, and (of course) parmigiano-reggiano. I haven’t had pancetta in a while, and I forgot how a tiny bit of this Italian bacon can work its magic through an entire dish.

We enclosed the filling in a fairly traditional pie crust that I made. My mom was quite proud of my crust. Admittedly, we have a not-so-perfect history with dessert pies. Maybe this will teach us to stick with savory pies. For now, that is. Notably, our pie turned out to be much thicker than the one featured in Batali’s book. Our flavors were awesome, though, so we didn’t mind the thickness in the slightest.

Swiss chard

ready for the oven

I have completed 52 of Batali’s 327 recipes. Percentage complete: %15.90

Also, you might have noticed that my journal has been going through some changes this past week. Thank you for your patience.  I hope you like the improvements. Be sure to check out my updated About Flat-Leaf Parsley page.

Leave a Reply

