ciabatta

Few things are as good as bread—even, as is frequently the case, when I cannot seem to produce a bread with the airy crumb I so love. Well, it will happen eventually. And in the meantime, I can enjoy the next best thing: a lean bread with a crisp outside and a cool inside, such as this ciabatta.

I made this bread with about 30% whole wheat. One of these days, I really need to purchase a book that focuses entirely on the science of baking whole grain breads. But, as an incentive to keep on rolling, I have decided to finish Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice first. Almost half-way there . . .

ready for some proofing magic

We served this ciabatta as the base for an eggplant bruschetta. An appetizer for dinner? Oh yes. I now have completed 27 recipes from Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice (Percentage complete: 49.09%).

Comments

  1. These look wonderful.

  2. Your post brought me fond memories of the Bread Bakers Apprentice Challenge… it’s been a long time, but I had so much fun participating… Ciabatta is a tricky bread, but one of my favorites! You did great!

Leave a Reply

