green maltagliati with oven-dried tomatoes, basil and black pepper mascarpone

While making pasta, I am always amazed that such few ingredients–flour and eggs–can produce something so incredibly lovely. Yet when given the chance to play around with the ingredients a bit, I am doubly thrilled. To make this dish of green maltagliati, I stirred some blanched spinach (squeezed dry and finely chopped) into the eggs before pouring them into the well of flour. The result: green-toned pasta.

Batali also explains how to make red pasta with tomato paste, black pasta with squid ink, and black pepper pasta with (you guessed it) black pepper. The squid ink pasta seems especially intriguing.

But I must admit that the star of this dish is the oven-dried tomatoes. In the past, my roasted tomatoes were usually a bit too watery for me. The trick, courtesy of Batali: roast a pan of halved tomatoes in the oven at 150 degrees for ten hours. The result is beauty itself. On the outside, the tomatoes appear almost slightly dehydrated. Yet they retain an incredible concentrated juiciness within.

This represents my 60th and 61st (with the tomatoes counting separately) completed recipes from Mario Batali’s Molto Italiano. Percentage complete: 18.54%

Comments

  1. Looks wonderful.

  2. I’ve always wanted to make maltagliatti, in part because I find the name spectacular! 😉

    beautiful photos, you are inspiring me to go for it, but I’ll wait until the weather cools down, and my life gets a tad less frantic 😉

  3. I want/need this for dinner!

Leave a Reply

