tortellini in broth

Ever since this season’s contestants on Master Chef were challenged to make tortellini in broth, I knew that it was time that I attempt this dish as well—particularly as I had a recipe waiting for me in Mario Batali’s Molto Italiano.  Admittedly, I had been skimming over this page in favor of less time-consuming recipes. But, the task came to hand, and I could not deny it.

This was my first time filling pasta with various meats. We were unable to find two of the meats (ground veal and mortadella) listed in Batali’s recipe, so we added ground beef and an interesting-looking salami to the ground turkey, ground pork, and diced prosciutto.

Over all, I am quite pleased with my first attempt at this dish. I must admit that I was somewhat surprised at the folding technique. I was expecting some advanced twisting, or something . . . but, we folded the little pastas just as we have folded most other stuffed pastas (using, of course, a smaller square of pasta dough).

I now have made 65 of Batali’s 327 recipes. Percentage complete: 19.88%

Leave a Reply

