Thanksgiving 2012

This post is arriving a little late, but not too late, I hope. I thought I still might share a few moments of the little Thanksgiving Day I had last week.

I made my 28th bread from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice (percentage complete: 50.91%): a cranberry walnut celebration bread. I think it turned out rather well. I am looking forward to baking more braided breads throughout the holidays — mostly because braiding is so much easier than I first had assumed …

I also cooked my first Thanksgiving Day turkey. Granted, I didn’t make a whole “bird.” But, baby steps, baby steps. This recipe is taken from Krieger’s The Food You Crave (52nd completed dish; percentage complete, 24.88%): turkey roulade with apple-cider gravy.

 

 

 

 

 

Below are sweet potatoes, two ways: mashed sweet potatoes with orange essence and honey-roasted sweet potatoes. Both dishes are Krieger’s (53rd and 54th completed dishes; percentage complete, 25.84%). The honey-roasted sweet potatoes already have become a staple in this kitchen.

 

 

 

 

 

And that, well, is that. Until next time, all.

Comments

  1. everything looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

