ciabatta – biga version

ciabattaIt took me a while to gain the courage to cut into this ciabatta — my 32nd recipe from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice (2001). I wanted some time to savor the possibility of having produced air pockets in the crumb. I made the poolish version of this ciabatta last July. And while the bread certainly turned out well (you can check it out here), the presence of air pockets seemed as elusive as ever.

So while I delayed the cutting of this latest venture, I checked the progress on my “deck” garden.

2013-06-15 18.45.25I was able to pull a few radishes:

radishesAnd as you can see, the twining of the green beans has begun. Very exciting.

green beansBack to the bread:

2013-06-15 14.42.33When I returned my attention to the bread and finally cut through the crust, I admittedly was incredibly pleased. To be sure, there were no huge air pockets. But, the suggestive presence of a few holes throughout the crumb provided me the hope that perhaps my bread-baking skills are slowly but surely improving.

ciabattaAir pockets! 🙂

2013-06-15 19.02.26

Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    The bread looks delicious!!! I love bread. 🙂

  2. Good job on the airy bread!
    Your radishes look great!

Leave a Reply

