Amy Chaplin’s At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen

I am in love with my new cookbook: Amy Chaplin’s At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen: Celebrating the Art of Eating Well (2014). This is the sort of food that forms a large part of my day-to-day diet, and I am excited to make that part even larger. Pictured is our first meal: An eggless sweet corn tofu “frittata” with roasted cherry tomato compote.  IMG_5748

IMG_5745 And meal #2) spicy chickpea stew and quinoa pilaf with golden raisins and pistachios. It’s been a while since I’ve had quinoa. I always will love my brown basmati rice, but quinoa is a great substitute. I’m determined to use a larger variety of grains in the coming year.IMG_5770 IMG_5753I believe our third dish from Chaplin’s wonderful book was our best yet: spicy black bean stew with crispy sweet corn polenta and tomatillo avocado salsa. We loved everything about this meal, from the bean stew to the salsa to the polenta. Like the previous meal, this one reminds me also of the necessity to up the variety of foods I use—in this case, beans. I’m so used to eating chickpeas and lentils that I often forget to incorporate other legumes into my day-to-day diet. But these black beans are superb.

IMG_5809

IMG_5812And last but certainly not least: one more from Ottolenghi and Tamimi’s Jerusalem. I finally cooked a leg of lamb. Exciting (And so good!).
IMG_5711

Comments

  1. David Kaus says:

    Everything was delicious!

Leave a Reply

