New Cookbook: Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Cooking (2007)

IMG_6426I received a number of beautiful new cookbooks for my birthday last month, one of which was Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Cooking (2007). Swanson’s food blog 101 Cookbooks heavily inspired the creation of my own blog almost exactly three years ago. I cannot fathom why it has taken me three years to obtain one of her books, but I’m very glad I now have one—even after making just two of her inspiring plant-based recipes. 
IMG_6433I’m home in Wisconsin for the next two months, and the quinoa dish above is the first my mom and I made from Swanson’s cookbook. I have a distinct love for the quinoa grain, which apparently is not a true grain but, as Swanson states, “grainlike in spirit when it comes to cooking” (33). The sauteed mushrooms and fresh thyme leaves (our own addition) completed the dish beautifully.
IMG_6467Our stunning second dish, Otsu, is a Japanese-inspired salad made with 100% buckwheat soba noodles and pan-fried tofu. I bought the buckwheat pasta from my local food co-op before I left Connecticut and was very glad I did so when I saw this stunning recipe. The dressing for this dish, made largely of fresh ginger, cayenne, brown rice vinegar, and shoyu sauce, is out of this world.

I’m so excited to see what more this lovely book has to offer. 🙂

Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    stunning photos!

Leave a Reply

