carrot top and garlic scape pesto, caramelized fennel on herbed polenta

IMG_6717

Yesterday was a day for celebration and in more ways than one. After five days of recovering from surgery, my mom busted out of the hospital yesterday afternoon. To observe the occasion, I made two more dishes from Sarah Britton’s My New Roots. The first is this carrot top and garlic scape pesto. I had never eaten carrot tops before yesterday. I never even knew they were a thing. But their pairing with garlic scapes make for an incredibly interesting and flavorful twist on this classic condiment.

IMG_6691

I also used the last of our garden’s garlic scapes in this recipe. It was a sad moment, but I think this pesto did them justice.

IMG_6697The second recipe I made was a heart-warming dish of caramelized fennel on herbed polenta.
IMG_6733In my experience, working with fennel can be a bit tricky if you don’t really know what you’re doing. But browning fennel slices on each side on the stovetop is an excellent and easy preparation method. We also garnished this plate with herb flowers. Aren’t they pretty? 🙂
IMG_6730These dishes mark ten completed recipes from Sarah Britton’s My New Roots, which quickly is becoming my favorite new cookbook.

Oh, and happy (belated) Fourth of July.

Leave a Reply

